MCEF Advocacy Fund Recognizes Conservative Energy Advocacy Leaders

LANSING — Michigan Conservative Energy Forum Advocacy Fund (MCEF-AF) recognized a group of state legislators and candidates who represent a new breed of conservative leaders in the energy policy realm. MCEF-AF is a policy advocacy group promoting a more diversified energy portfolio in Michigan - a true “All of the Above” generation mix that emphasizes a transition to clean, renewable forms of energy. 

Earlier this spring State Representative Tom Barrett received MCEF’s Legislative Champion Award for his work on key legislation in the state House, while City of Walker Mayor Mark Huizenga, a candidate for the 74th House District, received MCEF’s Founder’s Award for advancing energy efficiency in the private sector. MCEF recently surveyed candidates for the Michigan House and Senate and identified 49 “Friends of Conservative Energy Advocacy.” 

“We are pleased to recognize this group of conservative energy advocates for the leadership and vision they are bringing to Michigan’s energy future,” said Ed Rivet, executive director of MCEF-AF. Rep. Tom Barrett and Mayor Mark Walker have led by example in advancing innovative policies that will make Michigan’s energy supply more diverse, reliable and importantly, more affordable. We applaud their efforts to help lower energy bills for ratepayers. 

“We’re also highlighting 18 State Senate and 31 State House candidates that share many of our energy policy positions. This being our first foray into identifying friends of conservative energy advocacy, we began with Republican and Libertarian candidates before the primary election. We will survey Democratic candidates in the weeks after the primary. We view this as a three-way educational process. Candidates learn about our policy perspective while we learn about theirs. By providing this list, the general public can be informed as well. 

MCEF-AF is guided by conservative principles such as free markets, minimum government regulation, and encouraging innovation. These are the means for driving down energy costs, stimulating job and economic growth, and creating a diverse and robust energy industry in our great state. 

Attached is the Friends of Conservative Energy Advocacy list.


About MCEF-AF: The Michigan Conservative Energy Forum Advocacy Fund is a 501(c)4 organization that works to educate the general public and policy makers on responsible energy issues. The purpose of MCEF-AF is to advocate for energy policy in Michigan which advances the usage of clean and renewable energy sources by working directly with legislators and elected officials to support the passage of energy laws that will benefit Michigan ratepayers.

MCEF-AF “Friends of Conservative Energy Advocacy”

*   MCEF Legislative Champion Award recipient
** MCEF Founder’s Award recipient


Dist.    Candidate                              Party

8          Peter Lucido                        R
10        JosephBogdan                     R
12        Michael McCready                R
15        Jim Runestad                        R
16        Mike Shirkey                         R
17        Dale Zorn                              R
21        Kim LaSata                           R
22       Joseph Marinaro                   R
24       *Tom Barrett                         R
26       Bob Genetski                        R
26       Don Wickstra                        R
28       Nathan Hewer                       L
30       Mary Buzuma                        L
30       RogerVictory                        R
31        Gary Glenn                            R
34       Holly Hughes                         R
34       Max Riekse                            L
38       Mike Carey                             R


Dist.    Candidate                              Party

4          Howard Weathington           R
26       Al Gui                                     R
35        Theodore Alfonsetti             R
36       Scott Czasak                         R
40       Malissa Bossardet                 R
40       Paul Taros                              R
40       Joe Zane                               R
45        Michael Webber                   R
47        Hank Vaupel                         R
51        Matthew Anderton                R
55        Miha Todd                             R
59        AaronMiller                           R
60       William Baker                        R
65        Todd Brittain                         R
65        Matt Eyer                              R
65        Jason Rees                            L
67        Leon Clark                             R
72        Jennifer Antel                        R
72        StevenJohnson                      R
74        **Mark Huizenga                    R
77        Tommy Brann                        R
78        DavidMann                            R
81        Joel Williams                          R
82       Gary Howell                            R
96       Susan Kay Kowalski               R
98       Annette Glenn                        R
100      Scott VanSingel                     R
101      Carolyn Cater                          R
101      Jack O'Malley                          R
110      Keith LaCosse                         R
110      Gregory Markkanen                R